Sweet Potato Soup? Yes Please!

I love making all sorts of comfort foods this time of year, AND it makes it so much easier during the school/work week to figure out what to take for lunches!

This soup combines one of my favourite tubers with feta and cumin to create many bowls of simple tasty fabulousness. While I am only cooking for myself, I haven’t shrunk this recipe at all because, like I mentioned… having leftovers for lunches or a quick dinner is a magical thing! Intrigued yet? Read on, friends!

Sweet Potato and Cumin Soup with Feta Yogurt

3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

1 large onion, peeled and chopped

4 garlic cloves, peeled and finely chopped (I love garlic so I think I ended up using 5)

1 heaping teaspoon ground cumin

A pinch of dried red pepper flakes (I did not have these however, so I just nixed them)

2 1/4 pounds sweet potatoes, peeled and thickly sliced

5 cups chicken or vegetable stock

Sea salt

3 ounces feta, crumbled (definitely ended up using a bit more)

5 1/2 ounces Greek yogurt

2 tablespoons finely chopped sun-dried tomatoes (optional), to serve

Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add onion and cook for a few minutes until soft and glossy, stirring occasionally. Add garlic, cumin and red pepper flakes (if using) and cook for a minute longer. Add sweet potato, and continue to cook for another couple of minutes, stirring frequently. Pour in the stock and season with salt, bring to a boil and simmer over low heat for 20 minutes, by which time the potato should be very tender. Puree the soup in batches in the blender. Return it to the saucepan and season with a little more salt, if necessary.

Combine the feta and yogurt in a bowl and dollop a spoonful on top of each bowl of soup. Scatter a teaspoon of chopped sun-dried tomatoes on top, if using.

It turned out wonderfully! Next time I plan to add a grain of some sort – possibly barley or quinoa for a little extra body in the finished soup. Possibly also a parsnip or carrot as well. The recipe invites additions and modifications, which I particularly love. I’m terrible at properly following recipes – I generally take a glance and then just do it my own way with my own measurements… or guestimates :) It hasn’t failed me yet!

Happy cooking!

(recipe from here)

One thought on “Sweet Potato Soup? Yes Please!

Leave a Reply

